Rancid Chronicles: part 1

There is a little Sun Tzu in all of us.
Lo Ki
Seeder
Seeder

Rancid Chronicles: part 1

Post by Lo Ki » Tue Sep 02, 2003 12:33 am

Foreword:

These stories aren't about AC but have been inspired by my adventures in a number of RPGs; especially ADnD, Rolemaster, Elric, Warhammer, and Runequest. Hope you enjoy them. Now for the first chapter....

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am Erigan, a scribe by trade. Much of my business is simply reading or writing letters for the many people who have never learned to read or write themselves. As I have studied several languages I also provide translations; a much more lucrative task; but. one for which there is scant demand. My trade is usually quite boring but that was about to change.

One wintry afternoon a weary halfling entered the shop which is also my home. I have a desk where I work with another chair nearby where my customers usually sit as I read or write for them. My visitor ignored both and went straight to the hearth. My fire was nearly out and there was a bit of a chill in the room. The small fellow watched the fleeting flames for a moment and then began adding sticks from my meager supply by the fireplace. I was rather taken aback by his boldness; but, unable to find the appropriate words, I resorted to clearing my throat rather meaningfully. He added a few more pieces of wood to the fire before turning to face me.